Every January, I look forward to the announcement of the American Library Association (ALA) award winners for children.  Since I read reviews and order titles for my branch, it is interesting to see if I selected the titles that win.  A number of years ago, CPL staff had a Mock Newbery Award where staff read qualifying titles and discussed them before having their own vote. Many winners have become classics like Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell.


Island of the Blue Dolphins

Some years, a nonfiction title has won, such as Lincoln: a Photobiography by Russell Freedman.

    Lincoln: a Photobiography


Starting in 1994, with The Giver by Lois Lowry,  there was a trend where the winners were Teen titles.

 The Giver

Last year’s winner, CrossOver was  by Chesapeake’s very own Kwame Alexander, which was exciting and we were able to have him come to autograph copies.


In  2007 , a  533  page book (half illustrations) called The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick won not the Newbery but the Caldecott award for illustrations.

     Invention of Hugo Cabret

This year is even more unusual.  The winner, Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Pena, is a picture book, and also won as a Caldecott honor book.  Be sure to take a look for yourself, and enjoy the poetic writing and moving illustrations.

 Last Stop on Market Street

 What are your favorite award winners?

ALA Newbery Award Winners

Latest posts by CPL Admin (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *